What's new

total newbie question - planning for 1st home theatre setup (1 Viewer)

bud659

Agent
Real Name
keith
I will soon have my 1st ever onkyo receiver and bookshelf speakers and also a 55" Samsung or LG TV. I have researched all the equipment but not the cabling to set this up. with a little embarrasement to ask :D, do these systems use a HDMI cable from the Receiver to the TV? Or from Comcast Cable Box to the Receiver? just trying to coordinate the # of cables I need and the length of cable. thank u

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
If it's a newer receiver then you can use hdmi between the receiver and the tv. If it's a high-definition cable box then it should also have hdmi. It's always better to include the model numbers of all equipment involved so we can give more accurate responses. Are you stopping at a pair of bookshelves or are you planning to add additional speakers/sub woofer in the future?

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
I'll add my usual "Don't waste money on expensive cables" post. :D Use the ones that come with the gear, store brand from your local big box store, or go to monoprice.com and order.

zhezixi

Auditioning
Real Name
sfasfasdf