Toslink Connection

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Gary Hunter, Feb 29, 2004.

  1. Gary Hunter

    Gary Hunter Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just ordered the Dish811 HD receiver and realize that it only outputs 5.1 via optical connection. My problem is that this makes the third component that only outputs via optical and my processor only accepts 2 optical inputs. Does anyone know if there is a reasonably priced optical switchbox available? Or am I going to have to manually hook/unhook the component I want to play?

    thanks.

    Gary
     
  2. Gary Hunter

    Gary Hunter Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Darren{Moo}

    Darren{Moo} Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    You should be able to get a coax to toslink (or vice versa) converter for about $30.00 per unit with a power transformer.
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    The $25.95 converters in the link above are also available from Parts Express for $16.95 each.

    -Robert
     
  5. Jay Blair

    Jay Blair Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Parts Express shipping if fairly expensive, even for a small $16.95 item.

    Radio Shack has a powered toslink to coax or vice versa connector for $14.95.
     
  6. Christo Ramo

    Christo Ramo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, I just bought one made by radio shack. I am not too impressed by it. I was under the impression that it would take all analog signals and make them digital. What is does is enhance dolby prologic signals. Does sound a little more crisp and there a little more seperation. However, I am running it through the coax, but my amp does not see it as a digital connection like when my DVD is on, but there is another digital logo that appears on the screen. I guess I am going to keep - any other experiences with these bad boys?
     
  7. Ray_C

    Ray_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the RS convereter works with RF AC3 digital coax (like on laserdisc players), or only regular digital coax?
     

Share This Page