TosLink cable for sound

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by JuanMa, Feb 7, 2006.

1. JuanMa

JuanMa Auditioning

Hello, I've just purchased a 7.1 surround sound system and was told to connect my DVD player to the receiver using Optical Cable link for sound. I have video going to the Tv via Component cables.

I am not able to get any sound. It was somewhat difficult to push the optical cable in to the DVD optical input. I am afraid I may have damaged the cable. Whenever I pull cable out, leaving one end still plugged, I do see a red beam of light on the one end. If I repeat this process with the other end, then I do not see a beam of light.(Broken?) Also, there were two "bubble" like protectors on the ends of cable, are these supposed to be taken out prior to hook up? Because they are not longer there.

Please help, total newbie!!

2. Brian Osborne

Brian Osborne Stunt Coordinator

Sometimes the cable manufaturers will put a wax or plastic cap on the end of the optical cable. This may be the cause of your problem. Carefully push open the small door that covers your optical output and see if there is that plastic cap in there. If so, remove it with tweezers, just be carefull not to scratch anything on the inside. If all else fails, you may have a digital coax cable for digital sound. This will work just as well. This will be labeled digital audio input on the reciever and output on the DVD player. It will be an RCA hookup, and likely will be orange in color. Not every DVD player and Receiver will have this both types of inputs/outputs for digital audio.
    good luck, hope nothing is messed up...

3. JuanMa

JuanMa Auditioning

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, the only Digital Coax input the receiver has is already hooked up to my Cable box. Do I need to assign/tell the DVD player what input/output it needs to use for sound whenever using the DVD player?