Toshiba SD-4900 problem (blank screen w/ Progressive Scan)

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Alf S, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Hello all,

    I have a friend who bought this DVD player and when he set it up, he clicked "Progressive Scan On" (turns out his TV only has S-Video) and the screen went black.

    Now he can't even see the menu system to turn progressive scan "OFF". He unplugged it for 30 minutes, and plugged it back in..still black screen. Can't play anything ..nothin.

    Any ideas what he can do to reset it or get out of Progressive mode if he can't see a menu screen?

    Thanks!
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take it to a store, hook it up, change it back....

    Most palyers give a massive warning when doing this switch telling you, it will disable the current input.
     
  3. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    You cannot get progressive via s-video. You will have to hook it to another TV that has component and is HD capable, (which his TV is not since it does not have HD inputs) to correct the setting.
     
  4. Bill_Mis

    Bill_Mis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the 4800 Toshiba and on the rear of the machine there is a switch between Interlaced and Progressive. Just be sure that its placed in Interlaced if the tv is not compatible to safeguard against this happening again. After you unplug the unit and move the switch, plug it back in and you should be back in interlaced. Don't bother hauling it back to the store.
     
  5. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    Thanks for the info folks...I have passed it on to my buddy.
     
  6. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    440
    Real Name:
    Alfie
    FYI

    Per Toshiba, this is the fix for the problem mentioned in my post:

    "Remove the disc from the player, close the tray. Now press the stop button twice, then hold it down for 5 seconds." I did, and BAM I had the Toshi welcome screen."

    Worked like a charm.
     
  7. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured Tosh had a way around it.

    Many real cheapo players have no way around it though.
     

Share This Page