Toshiba sd-2200 compnent vid cables dont work!?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by GabeR, Sep 29, 2002.

  1. GabeR

    GabeR Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few months back I bought some monster cable component cables for my sd-2200 and hooked it up to my brand new jvc flat screen
    no picture...hmm..
    and the s video cable worked fine
    So i hook up the component cables to the RCA jacks instead of the component input jacks and it works but doesnt look any better.
    any input on this>?
    is my dvd player the problem?
     
  2. Martin Rendall

    Martin Rendall Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to own the SD-2200, and the my component cables worked great. It could be the DVD player, or it could be a faulty cable. Or it could be your TV. Can you find another set to try out?

    Martin.
     
  3. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Gabe: Are you sure you connected the player properly? It could be a faulty component-out on the player. Or it could be a bad component-in on the TV. Or the cables themselves could be bad. But first make sure the Y/PbPr outputs are connected to their corresponding inputs on the TV. JB
     
  4. GabeR

    GabeR Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    well ill just say this....I bought a monster cable S video cable once with my older 27 inch sony and this dvd player and the screen would flash on dark scenes of the dvd...took off the cable..and no probs with the rcas
    then I used the tiny little S video cable that came with my vcrs...and it works great...
    But i want better quality, and I know its not the tv, I just dont have other friends with any component tvs to try it out on
    thanks

    It just seemed odd that the compnent cables worked in the rca slots
     
  5. GabeR

    GabeR Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    well the colors are color coded right? Thats why I made sure they were connected right and even checked the dvd player menu to see if I needed to change anything
    Im guessing it is the dvd player and when I get my new Home THeater setup I will get all new cables and try again
    thanks
     
  6. Kris McLaughlin

    Kris McLaughlin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    GabeR, there might be a setting in the tv's menu to turn the component inputs on/off. My JVC tv has this setting, if component in is set to "no", it will not recognize the siganl at all, and shows only a blank screen. Worth a close look at the menu, at least.

    Cheers,
     
  7. GabeR

    GabeR Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks...but my tv has no feature, its just audio and v2 feature stuff and its all on
     

Share This Page