Toshiba DVD player sound issue

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Marlon, Jan 11, 2002.

  1. Marlon

    Marlon Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2000
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason unknown to me, my Toshiba SD-3109 DVD player refuses to decode Dolby Digital (or DTS for that matter) signals into something my receiver interprets as surround. I hear sound, but only from the front surrounds!! [​IMG]
    I know it's not a receiver issue, as the receiver correctly outputs test signals to all my speakers.
    Does anyone know of a solution? Or do I have to start searching for a new DVD player? For the record, my receiver is a Pioneer Elite VSX-26TX..
    Thanks in advance for the advice...
     
  2. Eric Alderson

    Eric Alderson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 1999
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    1
    This might work. When your DVD player is on, press the audio key on the remote and cycle through the options. If you are using an optical cable, choose "bitstream". To me it sounds like you want the DVD player to decode 5.1 and not the receiver. If you have the player hooked to the receiver via six separate analog cables, choose "analog 6-ch". Hope this helps.
     
  3. Marlon

    Marlon Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2000
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the DVD player connected via optical cable to the receiver and the DVD player is set to output bitstream. However, I still don't get 5.1 sound.
     
  4. BruceD

    BruceD Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you setup the receiver for DD5.1 and DTS5.1 output? Specifically speaker setup.

    How is the DVD connected to the receiver (what receiver inputs and what DVD outputs)?

    Did you select small or large speakers? sub? Did you calibrate all speakers to 75dB with the radio shack SPL meter and receiver test tones?

    As Eric said what is the DVD players "audio output" set to in the DVD's setup menu?
     

Share This Page