toshiba 57h83 vs 57hx83

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Abe Rodrigue, Apr 27, 2004.

1. Abe Rodrigue

Abe Rodrigue Stunt Coordinator

Hey guys-
    First off, I am a complete newbie so go easy on me. I am building my first HT system and have some questions on TV's. I pretty much made up my mind on a toshiba. Either the 57h83 or the 57hx83. My questions are what are the big differences between the two. I have done some research and found these differences:

Adjustable Dfine on the HX compared to just Dfine on the H

Separate Woofers and Tweeters on the HX

Theatershield on the HX

cinema series monitor on the HX and theaterwide on the H

TheaterNet icon IR control system on the HX

I really don't understand what these features mean, so anyone who can put them into laymans terms I would be forever grateful.

Also is the HX worth the extra $?
    One more thing, I would have to drive over 100 miles (or buy it on-line) to get to a dealer that carries the HX.

Thanks so much in advance.

2. David Parrish

David Parrish Stunt Coordinator

3. Abe Rodrigue

good link, thanks David, and I even understood most of it.
    Does this mean that the "H" series has a regular CRT? If what they say is true (which we know it has to be because it is on the internet[​IMG] ) why would anyone buy the regular model?

Also, do any of the other features make that much of a differance in the televison?

One last question: is it worth the 200+ mile round trip to get one?

Thanks again.

4. David Parrish

The H series has lesser CRTs, but maybe not as bad as the regular ones the link talks about. I honestly don't know.