Toshiba 56h80 vs Pioneer sd532hd5

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by SteveMc, Mar 3, 2001.

1. SteveMc

SteveMc Stunt Coordinator

Well the time has finally come for me to make up my mind on which one I want. I have been researching the posts and reviews for HDTVs for a couple months and have narrowed my choices down to the 56h80 or the sd532hd5. I was wondering if anyone can give some insight on my decision as I have heard nothing but great things for both sets. I am leaning to the Tosh as it sounds like it easier to access the service modes and hacks and things. The only down side to the Tosh so far is that its a beast...over 300 lbs!! Not looking forward to ever having to move it.
    On a side note, I have been looking at mostley Internet dealers for prices and service. Has anyone had problems getting warantee service from sets purchased over the Net? I do have a good local dealer that delivers cheap (40 bucks) but plus tax and their prices are quite a bit higher and they don't deal Toshiba, only the Pioneer I want.
    Crash

2. Scott Minto

Scott Minto Auditioning

I was looking at the same models plus the Mitsubishi WS55807 and also planning on ordering over the internet. Yesterday, I was in my local Sam's club where they have always only had the Pioneer SD532HD5 and it was ~$3500. When I was there, I noticed the price has dropped to $2499 all of a sudden. I don't know if all stores did this or just mine. It may be worth looking into because I can't find a lower price on the internet.

3. Jim Kirkman

Jim Kirkman Agent

Both sets are very capable.