What's new

Tosh. 55HX70 issues after tweaking... (1 Viewer)

Maximil

Agent
Hello all, :)
Using Keohie.com as my guide, I have been messing with my TV ever since I got it about 2 months ago. At first my goal was to fix a couple of geometry issues and do overscan reduction. I first started by doing the 64point conv. then moved into the settings (only changed HIT, WID, HPOS, VPOS values so far) using string lines to center the picture. Since the grid seemed to be shifted about an inch too high I tried VCEN (since VPOS was as low as it could go), but that seemed to tilt the picture so I moved into messing with the centering magnets. I also disable VSM while I was in there. Then I moved on to focus. I first did the electronic and then the mechanical.
Now on to the issues at hand...
frown.gif

- I've been noticing now that convergence is shifted (red - left, green - center, blue - right)about 1/4" to the extreme on the left side and less to none as you move towards the center. This gradually goes away by about an hour after the TV is on. I've heard that things need to warm up, but I never noticed this befor all of my tweaking.
- There seems to be a slight ghost image or lining around edges, more noticable depending on image contrasts and colors.
- Geometry (grid line spacing) is off, undoubtedly due to my hours of 64point and user convergence tweaking. I wish there was a way to reset this... I'm almost tempted to shell out $100 for a grid overlay.
I feel like just trading my TV in for a new one!!
Please, any ideas or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings
Convergence being off when you start up the set is normal. TV requires about 30 to 60 minutes of good warm up before you mess with the convergence.
Just because you didn't notice it before does not mean that it was not there.
laugh.gif

Everything sounds about normal ...