What's new

Torn about getting HDTV projection TV's (1 Viewer)

Mark Austin

Supporting Actor
I'm a newbie to the TV area in that I spend most of my time on the audio boards, but the time has come to buy a new set. I will also say that I'm not very educated on the latest and greatest concerning the sets now available. The Toshiba, Hitachi, and Mistu all seem to be good sets, and I'm sure I could be happy with any of them. Are there any glaring reasons to pick one over the other?

I have been reading all I can about the different models, and makes trying to discern which would be the best for my space, and needs. The problem I am having is that it seems each manufacturer has a problem/glitch or two with their projection sets. Is it worth the hassle? I have had a 32 inch tube for the past 5 years, and after calibrating it once or twice, I haven't had any problems. I know that videophiles are after perfection in their display devices, just as I am with audio. I guess my question is this. Not being a videophile is it worth going to a projection TV or will I be happier with seems to be a more hassle free tube set? Thanks for any, and all opinions.

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
Depends on whether you absolutely positively need a bigger picture. There are only a small number of direct views bigger than 36" and none bigger than 40"
If not too many people need to gather around, you can have everyone sit closer to a 32 inch set and get back some of the visual impact that others with bigger sets are experiencing.
Video hints:
http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm

Mark Austin

Supporting Actor
Allan, thanks for your response.

Depends on whether you absolutely positively need a bigger picture. There are only a small number of direct views bigger than 36" and none bigger than 40"