top of screen cut off

Discussion in 'Displays' started by GregAK, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. GregAK

    GregAK Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an old Toshiba 50HX81. A while back I posted a question when I noticed that the status bars at the top of Halo 2 were cut off. It was suggested that I dl a patch (which I never tried), but since then I am noticing that the very top is cut off with pretty much any device when played through my component inputs. I think it must be the TV. Is there a way to adjust this, maybe through the service menus, which I do not know how to access?

    If so, how do I access the menus and how can I adjust it. Thanks.
     
  2. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like overscan, assuming you're not using the wrong AR or something basic like that.
     
  3. GregAK

    GregAK Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My TV doesn't allow me to make any adjustments to the screen size when receiving a 1080i signal. I'm not sure what overscan is - can it be corrected? I was hoping the service menu might allow screen adjustments, like on a computer monitor, but I don't know how to access it.
     
  4. BrianNorman

    BrianNorman Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i hope this helps... on the 48-5 which is what i have this sort of happens. the way to correct it... in the picture menu>>>advanced>>> see if there is a vertical position, this usually will let you select how the image is centered, on the 4805 there is about 3 inches worth of area avail to center the image.
     
  5. GregAK

    GregAK Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is exactly the adjustment I was hoping to find in the service menu. I cannot find it anywhere in the regular menu. My Picture Menu does not have an "advanced" option and no vertical position option that I can see.
     
  6. BrianNorman

    BrianNorman Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i think i got it. in the wide mode selection window you want to select picture scroll
     
  7. GregAK

    GregAK Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope. I don't have that option. My menu must be different. I think I really need to get into the "secret" service menu. Anyone know how to do that?
     
  8. BrianNorman

    BrianNorman Extra

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was finding all my stuff on the toshiba website. your service manual is up there with the instructions on how to do it. that option is only avail in a few of the view modes according to it. check it out
     

Share This Page