To Do I Get Screen Captures From DVD's?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Dick, Jun 22, 2004.

  1. Dick

    Dick Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    2,658
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Maine
    Real Name:
    Rick
    I am using a Sony Vaio with Windows XP, and have Power DVD and Windows media Player for watching DVD's. But how can I capture still frames accurately? I have been able to get images transferred into my Jasc Paint Shop program by freezing a DVD frame in one of those two programs, hitting "print screen," then pasting to Jasc, but a chunk of the image is missing, and its area changes when I zoom in or out. When I try to crop, the resulting image is just one corner of the area I wanted. Anyway to stablize this? I suspect if I can, I will wind up with acceptable screen shots, albeit not as good as the ones posted in HTF movie reviews. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Dick

    Dick Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    2,658
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Maine
    Real Name:
    Rick
    I am using a Sony Vaio with Windows XP, and have Power DVD and Windows media Player for watching DVD's. But how can I capture still frames accurately? I have been able to get images transferred into my Jasc Paint Shop program by freezing a DVD frame in one of those two programs, hitting "print screen," then pasting to Jasc, but a chunk of the image is missing, and its area changes when I zoom in or out. When I try to crop, the resulting image is just one corner of the area I wanted. Anyway to stablize this? I suspect if I can, I will wind up with acceptable screen shots, albeit not as good as the ones posted in HTF movie reviews. Thanks in advance!
     
  3. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Click the "Capture Frame" button (or press the "C" key) while you are playing the movie in PowerDVD.
     
  4. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Click the "Capture Frame" button (or press the "C" key) while you are playing the movie in PowerDVD.
     
  5. Dick

    Dick Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    2,658
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Maine
    Real Name:
    Rick


    Jeff - what capture frame button? And the "c" key does nothing, either. Perhaps I have a dumbed-down version of Power DVD?
     
  6. Dick

    Dick Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    2,658
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Maine
    Real Name:
    Rick


    Jeff - what capture frame button? And the "c" key does nothing, either. Perhaps I have a dumbed-down version of Power DVD?
     
  7. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have PowerDVD 3.0. It has a button that has a picture of a camera on it. If you put the mouse pointer over it, a tool tip comes that says "Capture Frame (C)".
     
  8. Jeff Jacobson

    Jeff Jacobson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have PowerDVD 3.0. It has a button that has a picture of a camera on it. If you put the mouse pointer over it, a tool tip comes that says "Capture Frame (C)".
     
  9. Nate Anderson

    Nate Anderson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I should probably mention that Power DVD makes no indication that the capture was indeed made, however it was and has been saved in the PowerDVD folder on your computer.
     
  10. Nate Anderson

    Nate Anderson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I should probably mention that Power DVD makes no indication that the capture was indeed made, however it was and has been saved in the PowerDVD folder on your computer.
     
  11. Dick

    Dick Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    2,658
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Maine
    Real Name:
    Rick
    Well, I just downloaded a 30-day free trial of Power DVD 5.0, and damn! What a program! Superb screen captures, and so easy! Thanks for everyone's help.
     
  12. Dick

    Dick Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    2,658
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Maine
    Real Name:
    Rick
    Well, I just downloaded a 30-day free trial of Power DVD 5.0, and damn! What a program! Superb screen captures, and so easy! Thanks for everyone's help.
     
  13. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mmmm Sonic Filter + Zoom Player Pro is better [​IMG]
     
  14. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mmmm Sonic Filter + Zoom Player Pro is better [​IMG]
     
  15. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,601
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Dick (and other Power DVD 5 users) does the new PowerDVD capture in formats other than bitmap? Like JPG? And how do those caps look?

    If it can capture in other formats and they look good, I just might have to spend the cash for this...
     
  16. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,601
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Dick (and other Power DVD 5 users) does the new PowerDVD capture in formats other than bitmap? Like JPG? And how do those caps look?

    If it can capture in other formats and they look good, I just might have to spend the cash for this...
     
  17. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just out of personal experience capturing the same frames from PDVD 5 and the Sonic Filters I'd have to say the latter blows it out of the water.

    There are two ways to use the Sonic filters. One is through the Theatertek player ($70) which has it all integrated and is a very popular player for HTPC guys. Other costs less but a tad more effort is needed to set it up. Sonic Filters | Zoom Player Pro | Guide

    ZP Pro saves each capture to BMP.
     
  18. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just out of personal experience capturing the same frames from PDVD 5 and the Sonic Filters I'd have to say the latter blows it out of the water.

    There are two ways to use the Sonic filters. One is through the Theatertek player ($70) which has it all integrated and is a very popular player for HTPC guys. Other costs less but a tad more effort is needed to set it up. Sonic Filters | Zoom Player Pro | Guide

    ZP Pro saves each capture to BMP.
     

Share This Page