to buy or not to buy house

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Philip_G, Jun 8, 2003.

1. Philip_G

Philip_G Producer

Since I'm new to denver, I either have to find an apartment, buy something, or live in a cardboard box [​IMG]

I found a nice apartment, but it's 900/month for a 2 bedroom, plus deposit and so forth, no carport, no garage.

I can rent a townhouse for 1k a month, most of them are decent, but same deal on the parking.

houses are 200k and up for anything small and decent, I could probably swing that.

today I found a townhouse for sale in a new complex, it's nice, 2 car garage, then up to the livingroom, then up to the kitchen, then up to the bedrooms, it's a 3 bed, 2.5 bath, 1400 sq ft, pretty nice, but again it is a townhouse.. my payments with homeowner's fees, taxes, insurance, all that would be 1165 a month.

the place WILL go up in value like any real estate around here, I won't be tossing away 12k a year, and according to the mortgage lady once you figure in the interest writeoff and tax savings my payment is really closer to 900/month.
    the loan is an FHA first time buyer deal, 0 down (I'm po') at a 3.75% arm for the first year, then can go up a max of 1% or 2.25 over the t bill, so it could go down (ya right)

I just dunno [​IMG] it's a lot of cash... I suppose it saves me on my car insurance too, being a homeowner.

2. Philip_G

Philip_G Producer

pictures [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Keith Mickunas

Keith Mickunas Cinematographer

With interests rates as low as they are, it makes a lot of sense to buy a house if you can afford it. If you plan to be there at least a couple of years it most likely will be beneficial.