Tired of glasses, but contacts freak me out!!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David Ely, Jan 30, 2002.

1. David Ely

David Ely Supporting Actor

I'm so tired of wearing glasses. The main thing that bothers me about them are how much of a pain they are to keep clean.
    I've been considering getting contacts, but I just can't get myself to put my finger in my eye [​IMG] Hell ... I can't even use eye drops properly!!
    Any suggestions for getting used to contacts? I'm thinking about going to my doctor and getting a trial pair.

2. Erich_H

Erich_H Auditioning

Once you get them in, you will get used to them pretty quickly (usually). The problem is getting them in at first. Give yourself extra time in the morning to put them in, because it is going to be hard at first. Contacts are WAY BETTER than glasses. I've been wearing contact for 10 years and I won't go back.

3. Evan S

Evan S Cinematographer

The first pair of contacts I ever tried were the hard kind when I was 10 (I'm 30 now and do they even make the hard kind anymore?). I HATED them. Stayed away for 10 years before trying the soft kind when I was 20. What a night and day difference.

Getting used to them is easy. Once you get over opening your eyelid and touching your eyeball (which takes maybe a week), you are all set. The contact doesn't even feel like it's in your eye (as long as it's clean and fitted correctly) and I will never go back to glasses only. Not only can I play sports like Hockey without having to worry about getting hit, but it did wonders for my confidence and self-esteem.

You owe it to yourself to go this route or at least investigate Lazik surgery (which I am not prepared to do just yet).

4. Julie K

Julie K Screenwriter