What's new

Tire recommendations for a '92 Camry? (1 Viewer)

John Chow

Second Unit
Any tire recommendations folks?
I'm leaning towards the Uniroyal Tiger Paw Nailgard. I really like the idea of self sealing tires since i've had nail issues in the past. Any impressions of these or other tires? I'm not looking for anything exotic or expensive, hell this is an old camry after all :)

Keith Mickunas

Senior HTF Member
I put a set of these Michelins on my old cavalier after the wheels were stolen. They cost a bit more than something you might put on a car like that, but man what a difference they made over the stock goodriches. Road noise was less, and all around traction was much, much better. They are definitely the first tire I would consider in the future for anything they'd go on. Not that I have a lot of tire experience or anything, but I was shocked at the improvement a good set of tires can make.
When you buy the tires, I recommend you get the road hazard warranty and lifetime rotation and balance if they have it. The X Ones, as I recall, are rated for like 80,000 miles, and so the road hazard warranty would be worthwhile if you like to run over nails.

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
I've had two sets of Michelin tires on my '93 Camry, and have been very pleased with them. We tried the Uniroyal Nailguard's on my wife's old Villager because the salesman at Belle Tire talked me into them (and there was a rebate at the time). One of the tires was bad, so I made them replace them all with Michelin's.
Anyone out there interested in buying a '93 Camry V6 XLE with a nice set of Michelins? I just bought a new Nissan Altima 3.5SE yesterday. :D

John Chow

Second Unit
Heheh, the tirerack site seems to be the website constantly recommended. I've been skimming it for the last few days or so.

Hm..so looks like people seem to like Michelins, although they generally seem quite a bit more expensive than other tires, depending on the model.