Time Warner

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tim Jin, Jan 15, 2003.

  1. Tim Jin

    Tim Jin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried Time Warner HD programming in Orange County, CA? I like to know if its worth it.

    Tim
     
  2. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Time Warner is one of the leading cable companies when it comes to HD...They will privide the HD decoder box, the Scientific Atlanta 3100 hd box for the same monthy charge as their digital cable box....HD any way you can get it, is worth it..
     
  3. Jon.Dickinson

    Jon.Dickinson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been getting TW Digital for 2 months now and the HD channels are definitely worth it!! Especially after last weeks football on CBS...AWSOME!!
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Tim Jin

    Tim Jin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you watch NFL on CBS, is the game broadcast in HD? Is it in 16:9 or 4:3?

    I just called for a box and it will take over a month to get it.

    Tim
     
  5. Jon.Dickinson

    Jon.Dickinson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's 16:9 1080i. CBS has shown the AFC Div. playoff games only this year in HD. The AFC Championship will be in HD and ABC will show the Superbowl and all Monday Night Football games next season.

    To bad it's going to take a month. TW came out in a week when I ordered my box. I'm sure they are swamped with everyone getting their HDTV's for the Big Game.
     
  6. Tim Jin

    Tim Jin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you viewing the HD programming on a direct view set or projection?

    I just ordered a Panny 47" RPTV and wondering if I will tell a big different from Time Warner's Digital vs. HD.
     
  7. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tim,
    You will not get the HD channels with the Time warner digital box..You will just get the regular channels..You have to ask for their HD box which is the Scientific Atlanta 3100 hd box..Digital cable just takes the analog channels and digitalizes them...
    The difference between HD and regurlar cable or satellite digital channels is like night and day..
    All HD is 16.9
     
  8. Jon.Dickinson

    Jon.Dickinson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I have, a Panny PT-47WX.

    There is a HUGE difference between HD and digital. Can't even start to compare the two!

    Don't get your hopes up on the digital signal being a big improvement over analog. It's still sub par vs HD. You will see that channels 100 and higher have slight improvement over the analog channels. I guess we need to be a little patient for a couple more years for the networks to broadcast their full lineup in HD.

    2003: Non-commercial stations must convert.

    2004: Stations must simulcast at least 75% of their analog programming on DTV.

    2005: Stations must simulcast 100% of their analog programming.
     
  9. Tim Jin

    Tim Jin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting the same set as you, pt47wx. Can't wait....
     
  10. Tim Jin

    Tim Jin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jon,

    I hope you don't mind answering a few questions about Time Warner HD. Do you have to switch inputs on the tv or on the box when watching non HD programming or?

    Thanks,
    Tim
     
  11. Jon.Dickinson

    Jon.Dickinson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have component out of the box to "component 1" into the TV for HD feed. S-video out of the box to "video 1" into the TV for Digital. For the VCR, I have Digital and analog feed on an A/B switch. This way I have the option of taping non digital channels while watching another channel or switch to digital if I want to tape digital channels. You can only view the same channel your taping with the Digital feed.
    Has anyone heard about a Digital/HD box with 2 tuners???[​IMG]
     
  12. Tim Jin

    Tim Jin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I would need to do the same thing?
    So do you have to switch to "video 1" when watching non HD (digital/analog) and switch back to "component 1" for HD feeds?
    Did Time Warner supply all the cabling and set it up for you?
    I found a Time Warner site that compares HD boxes. Hope this helps.
    http://www.twckc.com/services/hdtv/compare.asp
     
  13. Jon.Dickinson

    Jon.Dickinson Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, Yes and Yes.
     
  14. Tim Jin

    Tim Jin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!!! You are a big help.
     

Share This Page