Time for some feedback - New guy with HT pictures

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Stan_K, Feb 27, 2002.

1. Stan_K

Stan_K Auditioning

Hello all!
    I've just recently put up a simple Web Page with pictures of my Home Theatre in progress. I have been doing the work myself for a few months now and I think it's coming out OK. As I progress further into HT madness I will be upgrading some equipment so I hope to get some suggestions from you folks on decent 7.1 receivers etc. As for the moment I have the following newbie questions?
    1. Would using ceiling acoustical tiles covered in coloured burlap provide any sound absorbtion?
    This would be a cheap alternative for the time being.
    2. IN my room 2 walls are exterior and 2 walls face into the house. I will Double drywall the 2 walls into the house but dont feel I need to double up on the walls facing outside. Will I notice any fluctuations in sound because of this. Would placing the second layer on the other side be a better idea?
    Thanks for your input.
    My HT -The Holodeck [​IMG]

2. WilliamM

WilliamM Stunt Coordinator

Looks excellent. I am always impressed by the DIY people. I look forward to seeing more pics in the future.[​IMG]

3. Matt Stryker

Matt Stryker Screenwriter

Great job so far! I bet that ceiling is going to look fantastic once you get everything painted.

For your 7.1 speaker setup, have you considered mounting locations, in-wall speakers, etc? I've always heard its easier to do when building than after.

4. Stan_K

Stan_K Auditioning

Thanks Guys!