1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

Time delay when using Tivo?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Allan, Nov 26, 2001.

  1. Allan

    Allan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this might be better in the PVR section, but there is much more traffic here....

    So,here is my question -- is there a time delay when using Tivo? I have my system hooked up as follows: digital cable from wall to cable box; from cable box to Tivo (via R/L ausio and S-video) and then Tivo audio (r/l audio) to recevier and video (s-video) to the tv. However, some of my cable channels are broadcast in digital. Therefore, I have a digital cable fomr the digital out of the cable box to a digital in on my receiver. I tried using it this way the other day and the sound did not match with the video (it was faster). THen, i turned on the same channel on two different tvs (one with Tivo and one without Tivo) and it was clear that the one with the Tivo was a little behind the one without.

    Does anyone know why this happens and how to fix this?

    Thanks again,

    Allan
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, there's a time delay, and there's no way to fix it, because that's how TiVo works. In order to do the tricks it does with live TV (pause, rewind, etc.), TiVo first has to process the signal, and that's what introduces the delay.

    M.
     
  3. Allan

    Allan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Michael. So, there is no way to take advantage of digital sound (some of my channels are even occasionally broadcast in DD 5.1) if you use a Tivo?

    Allan
     
  4. GordonL

    GordonL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2000
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. Scott Stevens

    Scott Stevens Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 1999
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another option would be to connect the composite video or RF from you cable box to a second input on your tv. When you want to watch something in DD just switch to that input and bypass the TiVo.

    My only question is how you would hear the DD. Does your cable box have an optical ouotput that you have connected to your receiver?
     
  6. Duane M Davis

    Duane M Davis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Duane Davis
     
  7. Allan

    Allan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all for responding. Scott, my cable box has a digital coax out which I can hook directly into my receiver. I guess what I might do is have an RCA video cable go into a separate input (in order to get DD 5.1 when available). The only drawback there would be that I would lose the S-video connection. But, if that is the best...

    Thanks again,

    Allan
     
  8. Vishwa Somayaji

    Vishwa Somayaji Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Several models of Onkyo receivers let you introduce a delay in the audio to compensate the video delay and thus syncronize the two. I know that models 797,898 and 989 will let you do this. I am sure there are others but I do not know off hand.
     

Share This Page