What's new

Throughput slowdown with WPA security? (1 Viewer)

Stephen Orr

Screenwriter
I'm still kind of new to the whole wireless thing. I set up a wireless router in our house so we could use my son's old dell laptop anywhere in the house. I set it up with WPA security, and have a pretty strong signal all over.

I spent this evening installing a wireless desktop card into our minister's computer to take advantage of the wireless router that is used in the administration offices. I set that router up for WPA, but the signal screeched into low, even though the minister's computer is barely 15 feet from the router. Without the security activiated, the signal is very strong.

What's going on? It's making me nervous about installing wireless cards in my personal desktops so I can move one downstairs to use as a media center.

Thomas Newton

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas Newton
Enabling or disabling WPA security should have absolutely nothing to do with the strength of the radio signal. (Other than to note that if there are security problems, WPA on the access point and/or the laptop should disassociate you from the WLAN.)

It is possible that enabling WPA might slow down the data throughput of an access point, especially on one that is cheap, one that is old, or (less likely) one that's using one of the AES encryption ciphers as opposed to TKIP. As I recall, the original point of WPA was to provide a solution for existing hardware (much of which could not support AES) until 802.11i (WPA-2?) and AES-ready equipment was ready. So TKIP was mandatory and AES was a (theoretical) option.

Thomas Newton

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas Newton
If there are multiple access points in the area, is it possible that the minister's computer is getting bounced off the one you're using ("can't authenticate"), and is then seeing some other access point (possibly in another building)?