Thoughts on the HSU STF-2.

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Seth=L, Sep 15, 2006.

1. Seth=L

Seth=L Screenwriter

This is my first time even hearing an HSU, though I have allways heard good things, let alone owning one. I just got mine on the "super cheap" from a pawn shop in my area for $70 and is in good condition. I think it is going in the bedroom because I have a much larger sub in my main rig. The rig in my room isn't bad either, but the receiver and source are mid-fi stuff, but hey at least I have good speakers right?

The receiver is a Yamaha HTR-5730, source is Magnavox CDB-560, and Infinity IL10 speakers. Is there any reason to have anything better in my room?

What are some comparable, other than price, subwoofers to the HSU STF-2. Personally I thing the sub is pretty cool exempt the tacky HSU logo, but for the killer price I suppose this isn't very important.

I was also thinking about getting some really cosmetically bad NHT 1.5's as well today, did I screw up by not getting those?

2. Jacob C

Jacob C Second Unit

I have one, I like it....

As far as comparisons I haven't A/Bed it but it sound much better than 90% subs I have heard. It also has good output for it size. It is one of the few subs, under $1000, that I actualy like. Hope that helps. A/B it with your main sub and let us know what you think.

3. Arthur S

Arthur S Cinematographer

Yes, Seth, you really screwed up by not getting the NHT's. After all you have so many speakers all ready, that you said you use them for seats [​IMG]. IMHO, you need to get rid of a bunch of these speakers and get yourself a new display. Your inventory includes way too many speakers and a puny 27 inch display. Meanwhile, you keep buying speakers and have a silly display. The Panasonic TH-50PX60U is $2,699 at Best Buy this week with 0% financing for 36 months. With a 2:35 widescreen DVD you are getting about ~200 square inches of screen area with your 27, versus over 800 square inches with the Panny 50PX60U.