"this device is working properly"-but it's not...(help with video card)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Sam E. Torres, May 31, 2002.

  1. Sam E. Torres

    Sam E. Torres Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 31, 1999
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    all right, i have been going through hell trying to reinstall everything on my computer ever since the big virus uproar. i have everything working again except the video card. i go to device manager and it says everything is working properly. i need a capturing device; i liked the one i had before. it was an ati one. i tried downloading it from the website but it said i didnt have the hardware. my friend installed the video card and he swears it is an ATI all in wonder 128. i look at the device manager and it says it's a "3D RAGE PRO AGP 2X"...i looked that one up at the site and there are a few LIKE it, but none that say, verbatim, "3D RAGE PRO AGP 2X." but the thing is, the capture software i downloaded wasn't just for one video card, but many, if not all ATI cards. sorry for all these stupid questions, they just seem ridiculously simple for pay a technician for, and i thought you guys could give me some great advice. thank you.
     
  2. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does your video card actually have video capture abilities? Like, is there a video-input plug on it? If it only has the SVGA output, then your card definitely will not be able to capture video from an external source.

    What is the actual model of the ATI card in your box? The best way to find out is to read the text written on the video card. Take it out of the computer, and look.
     
  3. Glenn Overholt

    Glenn Overholt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I have this right your video card has two sets of drivers. One is for the video card and the 2nd set is for the video capture, so 3d rage could be correct.

    You could remove this item on your system info and reboot. Then load up the software. It should load up the main drivers first, and then send you to a 2nd program for the capture part.

    Glenn
     
  4. CarlDJr

    CarlDJr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sam,
    The drivers are not "universal", you need to download the drivers specific to your card.
    I checked the ATi site. In the link below you will need to select your OS in the first box, then select your card in the second box (scroll down to "ALL IN WONDER 128 PRO").
    Be sure to read ALL the info they give about the driver choices on the page that will come up.
    http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html
    Hope this helps.[​IMG]
     
  5. Jeff Lehr

    Jeff Lehr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is that "3D RAGE PRO AGP 2X" a separate card or integrated video on the motherboard? If it's integrated AGP, you should be able to disable it through the BIOS.
    Then you should be able to see your ATI card show up in the Device Manager.

    JL
     
  6. CarlDJr

    CarlDJr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    Good suggestion. It didn't occur to me that there might have been onboard video. Just goes to show that it helps to think "outside the box" once in awhile.

    :b
     
  7. Sam E. Torres

    Sam E. Torres Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 31, 1999
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the video card is not integrated...but i am still confused as to why my friend is certain that it is an all in wonder, but the computer, when reformated, searched for driver information, and uncovered the 3D RAGE PRO AGP 2X...[​IMG]
     
  8. Sam E. Torres

    Sam E. Torres Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 31, 1999
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ...and on a more detailed explanation of the error message that pops up when i try to install the all in wonder 128 capture software, a window titled "severe" pops up and it says "setup was not able to detect ATI hardware"...

    finally got around to opening the thing up and taking a look for myself.

    AIWPRO
    44602
    101

    verbatim, what it says. i downloaded the aiw pro software...same thing.
     
  9. CarlDJr

    CarlDJr Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sam,
    Going from the W2000 drivers list of supported cards you shouldn't be having any problem even if it were only a Rage 128 Pro.
    http://download.ati.com/drivers/w2kr128513013279.html
    Just to be sure, did you read the Release Notes for the drivers?
    http://www.ati.com/support/infobase/3659.html
    Just out of curiosity, what motherboard do you have?
    If all else fails, I would give ATi tech support a call. I had a problem that I couldn't solve and they walked me through the troubleshooting and fix.
    Keep plugging away!
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page