What's new

Thinking of hooking up a HTPC--Suggestions? (1 Viewer)

Andrew Grall

Supporting Actor
I will be getting a new Toshiba 50H81 soon, and have an extra PC sitting around, so I'm trying to figure out how much effort it will take to set up an HTPC. I'm a builder of computers, so that's not a big deal, but if it costs much to do (after paying so much for my TV), I might wait a few months...
Anyhow, here are the computer specs:
Motherboard with built-in audio/video
Audio is something like crystal labs
Video is a form of nvidia 128 (although I also have a Voodoo2 in the system)
There is 128 MB of PC100 memory
Plenty of hard drive space
Intel Pentium II 450
Windows ME
DVD drive
I know that I would at the very least have to put in a different sound card to get DD/DTS out, but would I have to change anything else? Also, what do I need to hook up the HTPC via VGA to the component inputs on the Toshiba?
Thanks!
------------------

Matt DeVillier

Supporting Actor
Andrew,
you'll need a new video card (the riva128 won't cut it) to start. the current recommendation is an ATI Radeon LE. You'll also need a software DVD player. the radeon should come with the ATI player, but you may want to test out Windvd 3.0(my pick) or powerdvd 3.0 (also good) because last time I checked the ati player does not pass the dts bitstream (DD only). to connect the radeon to your tosh you'll need a VGA->component converter. http://www.audioauthority.com/ makes such a device for about $130 which works quite well.
check out the HTPC forum atwww.avscience.com for more helpful suggestions
-Matt

KeithA

Grip
A few things to consider...