Thinking of going LIVE : what's everyone's fave XBL games?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Carlo Medina, Oct 6, 2003.

1. Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina Executive Producer

Hi All,

We're going to Target tonight where the XBox Live kit is $35. I'm seriously thinking of getting it, but I just wanted to see what everyone's favorite XBL game is here, just to see if the service is worth it.

The only games I currently own that are XBL capable are Mechwarrior and Unreal Tournament.

So what are most people playing now on XBL? What games have worked the best, and are the most fun, online? Are there old XBL games that are still fun to play online (and that people are still playing)? I ask because I don't really buy games when they're $50, I usually wait until the drop to $30 or less, so I'm not bleeding edge (as you can tell by Mechwarrior and UT).

I'm new to online gaming so any help or comments would be greatly appreciated!

TIA.

2. Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

I also was thinking of getting X-Box Live. I'm asking for Return to Castle Wolfenstein for my birthday (and I'm pretty sure I'm getting it) and then hopefully I'd get another XBL-enabled game to warrant the purchase of an XBL subscription.

Also, there's downloadable content to take into consideration. Splinter Cell can be had for $20 in some places, and that has downloadable levels (1 out already, more some time in the future). KotOR also has downloadable stuff coming.

3. JayV

JayV Supporting Actor

ESPN Football and Ghost Recon: Island Thunder are relatively popular with my group currently.

There's a bit of a lull and I can't think of any one heavy heavy hitter right now. There's a ton of stuff on its way out that will likely be in constant rotation -- games like Rainbow Six 3 (due out end of October) and Crimson Skies.

Both GRIT and Splinter Cell have a number of downloadable levels on the free demo disc that comes with Rainbow Six 3.

-j

4. Carlo Medina