What's new

Thinking of going back to grad school for an MBA, advice/thoughts needed. (long) (1 Viewer)

Ryan_C

Second Unit
Hey guys,

I am tossing around the idea of going back to grad school for my MBA.

Here's my situation. I am 28, unemployed currently, and living with my parents in FL. I have a bachelor's degree in Industrial Engineering that I got in Dec. '99 from NC State. Since then, I have been laid off twice. I worked for Nortel Networks for 16 months out of school, was unemployed for about 7 months, then got a job at a recreational boat company that only lasted 4 months before they laid me off (restructure). I haven't been able to find a job since May of '02, due to the economy and my limited experience I am assuming.

I was planning on going back to get my MBA later on, when I was with a good company that would pay for most/all of it. Since I am going on almost two years with no job, I have been tossing around the idea of going back now.

Has anyone else done this? I will have to take the GRE first obviously (or whatever test you need to get into an MBA program). But my concerns are taking out MORE loans for out of state tuition (I want to go to school somewhere where it's cold and there are mountains preferably. I don't want to stay in FL at any rate), I have more bills now then when I was in college, etc. Do some MBA programs have grants or work study programs you can get?

I honestly don't even know where to begin to looking. I have glanced at the MBA program at University of Vermont, and plan on calling them this week for information.

I would really appreciate any thoughts and advice any of you might have on this. Thanks for taking the time to read this long post, it's appreciated!

Justin Lane

Senior HTF Member
Ryan,