Thinking about 15" Dayton DIY (not a kit) subwoofer:

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Kenneth Harden, Jan 22, 2004.

1. Kenneth Harden

Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

I downloaded WinISD last night, and after reading the tutorial, I pretty much figured it out. I am considering either the Dayton 15" Quatro ($85 295-560) or the 15" Titanic MkIII ($200 295-420)

As a theoretical box, I did 18" X 24" X 24" inside measurements and a 20 Hz. tuning frequency. A single 4" port is also included. They both show ~22 Hz. @ -3dB., but the Titanic, at RMS, had a max output of ~120 dB. while the Quatro was at ~115 dB. - I am in a pretty small room, and that is a small difference, and that $120 difference would be enought to do the project (wood, compoenets, etc.)

What do you think? Am I using the software correctly? Am I in the sort of mindset I should be? Any advice? I have a pretty good understanding of audio, but I am still a novice in DIY.

ALSO: whenever I do a sealed box design, my -3 dB. point seems to be in the upper 30's, is that about right?

Thanks!

Also, when I get some $$$ taken care of, I will probably order a pro Crown amp and a Art 351 EQ, so that will be enough to drive it.

2. keoni

keoni Agent

I am glad you figured out the WinISD. I downloaded and for the most part know what it means. I am totally lost on the graph though.

3. Kenneth Harden

I understand the 'GAIN' graph - it shows the responce curve for the speaker/cabinet, and the goal is to have the line (the green line that curves) pretty flat, and you also know where your bass starts to fall off when it crosses that purple line (-3 dB) so you can 'see/hear' your speaker. The SPL graph lets you put in a certain amount of power, and it shows you, at what frequency, what your levels will be.

The other two, don't know, but I am sure they are not THAT important [​IMG]

4. Aaron Gilbert

Aaron Gilbert Second Unit