Thinkin HTR 5650 Yamaha

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jim Demon, Feb 16, 2004.

1. Jim Demon

Jim Demon Auditioning

Anyone who has an opinion:
    I am a total newbie to HT. I have a Toshiba SCD-2200 (I think) DVD player, a Toshiba, Super VHS VCR and a decent35" RCA television. I have everything connecting to each other. For instance, the DVD and cable goes to the VCR, which goes to the TV. Since the TV has Picture in Picture, I have a second cable connection going directly to the TV.

I need to introduce sound and at the same time, bring some order to my compnents. I was thinking the Yamaha HTR-5650 looked like a good solid choice, with s-vid, component etc available. Also it allows to sources of sound, which is what I am looking for. I will have to buy speakers, but I can deal with that. My budget is around 300-400 for the reciever and probably $100 for the speakers. Note that I can buy the speakers in steps, so if I can buy two small ones, life is good.

Last, the wife wants wireless speakers to use on the deck. Thoguths on that?

2. Jeff&R

Jeff&R Auditioning

I would suggest th HTR-5660 ($330) or the Harmon Kardon AVR-230 ($375) @ Vanns.com

The 5660 has all pre-outs for possible future amp upgrades and is better for movies more so than music (brighter sounding amp) .

The AVR-230 is abit more musical
    (laid back sound) and has a slightly better amp with a better "continous" power rating vs the Yamaha .

3. Jim Demon

Jim Demon Auditioning

You are going to have to forgive me, I am not certain what a "pre-out" is. Also, is it a "step above" the HTR-5650? I have seen the HTR-5650 priced around $260. That extra $70 bucks could go some way to speakers....

4. Allen Marshall

Allen Marshall Supporting Actor