What's new

Thermodynamics: Engineer vs. Physics (1 Viewer)

Mike Wladyka

Supporting Actor
Hey Guys anyone else want to join in? This is going to be a thermo debate started by me and edwin_c

Hey Edwin_C,

i hope that you are going to be in this just for the fun of technical debates...

ok, so my background is this: B.S. Chemical Engineering 2002, Cleveland State University, Magna Cum Laude

i have taken thermo in three standpoints: 1. Engineering (pretty every class used thermo, so 5 years) 2. Physics (1/2 semester) 3. Physical Chemistry (mainly statisical, 1 semester)

Please let me know background so that this can be a good friendly debate

Mike

Bill Catherall

Screenwriter
BS Mechanical Engineer, 1998. I took the required 2 semesters of thermo. I loved the first semester that dealt mainly with the theories and cycles. I caught on to it quickly and aced the course. Second semester was tough as I tried to wade my way through all the number crunching and formulas. I had a hard time catching which formula to use where. Plus the course was accelerated since it was a spring semester. I squeeked by with a C.

So if it's theory you want to debate then I'll enjoy this. If you want to crunch numbers then I'll just watch from the sidelines. ;)

So what's the first topic up for debate?

Mike Wladyka

Supporting Actor
For those joining in, such as bill...the initial discussion started in the speaker and subs section under most over priced speakers...starts on page 5 between me and edwin c...about the laws of thermodynamics (1st, 2nd, 3rd) and how they are defined and different between physics (which i believe his major is) and engineering (which i am)...

i would post a link to the forementioned thread but i can't since i am relatively new here

please read up on this thread so that you know what we are talking about it...if you can't find it, i will give a summary: