What's new

Theater chairs and making a base (1 Viewer)

Anthony_Fros

Agent
I recently "acquired" a group of 4 theater chairs. I have a few questions though, as they were not together when I got them.

Do I need to get specific standards to put the chairs together (when I got them, I grabbed 2 "A" seat bottoms and 2 "B" seat bottoms, plus a bunch of standards, and a left and right end standard)?

Second question, if I were to make a riser base for them, does anyone have a schematic or dimensions as to what they used to make one?

Any help as always is greatly appreciated.

Glenise

Supporting Actor
Well, this is what my installer did.

http://myhometheater.tripod.com/platform3.jpg
You will need to cut and paste this link in your browser.

He put some wood underneath the seat bases in the platform to keep the seats steady.

My seats were made to go together but three I separated and had him install them standalone on the floor.

I'm no expert so I'm not sure how much help I can be but my seats are similar to yours.

Anthony_Fros

Agent
Well, I was planning on just using a piece of plywood to bolt the chairs to because I don't need the riser just yet. That's the next logical step, if I ever do get another set. Another set would mean I would have to move the TV and set the room up longways instead of short. I'm more concerned with whether or not I need to go back and look for other standards to bolt the seats to.

Glenise

Supporting Actor
Hmm.
Well my first and seconds rows are mounted on concrete.
Of course I have carpet installed.

GabrielleG

Stunt Coordinator