The worst game review I have ever read!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul_D, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. Paul_D

    Paul_D Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's for Medal of Honor Allied Assault, and although I think he gives the game a fair overall score, it's the worst written review I've ever read. Some of the points he makes are contradictory. He's repetitive. And doesn't really seem to have a clue. He also says the game has a 'small soundtrack' and that it 'was lacking a lot of theme and background music'! WTF?!!? MOHAA has got the best game soundtrack I've ever heard! I even listen to the MP3's while I'm NOT playing the game. He also complains that the game gets slow when there's lots of action on screen! [​IMG] He lists it as a "technical" weakness. [​IMG]
    The worst game review I have ever read!
    Check it out. It'll give you a chuckle.
     
  2. Joe michaels

    Joe michaels Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 1999
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Isn't that just a user review? Give him a break.
     
  3. Ricky Hustle

    Ricky Hustle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  4. Paul_D

    Paul_D Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. Dan Brecher

    Dan Brecher Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 1999
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad I am not the only one who runs the MP3 music files from the game. [​IMG] No CD release for this, but MOH: Frontline is getting one!
    Dan
     
  6. Derrik Draven

    Derrik Draven Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Chris
    My GF bought this game and we installed it on her 1.2mhz P3, with a Geforce2 w/64mb ram.

    It runs like shit.

    It chugs to just a couple of frames a sec frequently.

    I realize that the Geforce2 she has is just a PCI card but, I didn't think that the bus bottleneck would be so bad as to make this game virtually unplayable at times. Seems to just get crushed to it's knees whenever data is transferred into the cards memory. Once it's there, it seems to do okay.

    But...it seems to be shuffling data back and forth quite a bit.

    So...this game, which seemed like it would kick ass, just sits and collects dust.
     
  7. MikeAlletto

    MikeAlletto Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. BrianShort

    BrianShort Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2000
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, something is up with your config...

    P3 733, 384 megs at the time (though I took out a 128 meg stick that I think was causing some lockups), GeForce2 GTS 32 meg card...

    Runs at 800x600, full detail on everything else, 32 bit color... smooth the whole way through.

    Brian
     
  9. Ike

    Ike Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here...1.4 Gig, 256 megs of ram, and a GeForce 2 Pro w/64 megs of ram (AGP card), and it runs fantastic at 1024x768. You probably just have something up with your system config...
     
  10. Derrik Draven

    Derrik Draven Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Chris
    Personally, I think the problem lies somewhere with Windows XP. Maybe it's just me but, I don't think it a real "game friendly" operating system.

    Hell, I can't even install Thief II on it, let alone play it.

    I just have this feeling that there is too much shit running in the background. I've turned off all virus checkers, no screen savers are going and, I doesn't show any applications running. BUT...there are a TON of processes going on the the background but, problem is, how the hell do you know which ones you can shut down? I already tried the "trial and error" method. One of the processes made me shut down the whole friggin' pc.

    I dunno, maybe the fact that the card is a PCI is all the difference. You guys are running AGP cards. At the bare minimum, you guys are running twice the data path. Some of you may have AGP(x4) which REALLY smokes my GF's bus.
     
  11. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you sure that it is a GeFORCE2? And not a TNT2?

    I have zero problems running this game at 1024x768 with everything maxed out on my Athlon XP 1800+ 512MB PC2100 RAM and GeFORCE3 Ti|200.

    But it ran like a dog on my old Athlon TBird 800Mhz 256MB PC100 RAM and GeFORCE2 MX.
     
  12. ScottJHodson

    ScottJHodson Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    running win xp with amd 1.1 and a geforce 2 with 64 mb and am having no problems with game. only problem i encountered was with open gl.
     
  13. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Running on a Duron 750,GF2 mx 400 64meg, 512 meg Ram. Only when I boost everything to the top do I slow down.

    I didn't think my system was that slow
     
  14. Ricky Hustle

    Ricky Hustle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2000
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running it under Win Xp at 1280x1024 and it runs like a dream w/ most settings up to their highest.
    I have a P4 1.7GHz machine with a gig of DDR RAM.
    Video card Radeon 7500 w/ 64 MB DDR RAM
    You guys need new systems! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page