The Value of Criterion

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Jeff B., Jul 6, 2004.

1. Jeff B.

Jeff B. Stunt Coordinator

Being pretty new to HT and dvd shopping (just really started building my collection in the last 6 months) I was wondering how much better Criterion really is. I see the Criterion releases praised here all the time, but I don't own one, and I've never seen one.

I was a little shocked to say the least when I first started looking at the prices of Criterion discs. The main movies I'm interested in are Traffic, Fear and Loathing, and Seven Samurai. Just these 3 movies alone would cost me over 100 bucks from amazon.com. Take Traffic for instance. I could buy the regular disc for under 13 bucks, or the Criterion for 35. I can appreciate good picture quality and extras, but is the price really justifiable?

I know a lot of you live for the Criterion discs, but keep in mind I'm a college student, so I don't want to be wasting my hard earned money.

Jeff

2. DonRoeber

DonRoeber Screenwriter

You'd be wasting your money to NOT buy the Criterion versions of these films. Quite simply, there are no better versions of these movies. Criterion takes the time and resources to give you the best possible film quality, as well as informative extras.

I don't buy Criterions often, but when I do, they never dissapoint.

3. Terry St

Terry St Second Unit

You really have to treat it on a case by case basis. Criterion disks are usually of very good to excellent quality. They typically do good transfers. They often, although not always, dig up some nice extras. (Many of their releases are absolute bare bones...) Their packaging is typically very attractive and their menu's are often wonderful. Other companies can and do produce DVD's of the same quality however, but typically not as consistently as Criterion does.