1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

The Upgraded Anthem AVM-20 2.1

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Marc_E, Jul 17, 2003.

  1. Brian Fitterman

    Brian Fitterman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  2. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
     
  3. Robert_Lamb

    Robert_Lamb Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  4. Mike Loiterman

    Mike Loiterman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't find the cable needed to connect my computer to the AVM-20. Can someone tell me what sort of cable I need, and if possible, give a link to where I can buy one online?
     
  5. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Mike,

     
  6. Craig Morris

    Craig Morris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1998
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird. I used to get the Rear Left Surround pop when my AVM detected a 5.1 signal and auto-set itself to my default setting (THX Ultra2 on DD or DTS). This happened on Digital Cable and DVDs the first time it detected a 5.1 signal; one pop, one channel, one time.

    I recently updated to 2.12 and now I get a short click in all channels whenever I switch tracks on a DVD or whenever a new chapter starts... (it's a Panny RP-91). This is FAR more annoying than the previous 2.10 problem... should I revert back to a 2.10 or 2.11x? Or can I fix this some other way?
     
  7. Mike Loiterman

    Mike Loiterman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No...I was talking about the RS-232 cable.
     
  8. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Mike,

     
  9. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Craig,

     
  10. Mike Loiterman

    Mike Loiterman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would this one work?

    http://www.sureneeds.com/db9mf06b.html
    its $4.60

    The one from mycables is about 3x the price (12.00)...plus shipping is 7.50. I would hate to spend 20 bucks on a $5.00 cable.
     
  11. Prathavan V

    Prathavan V Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mike,

    I too was loathe to spend much money on the cable. I found a 10 foot $3.99 cable (Canadian!!) at a computer store and thought I'd give it a try. It works GREAT!! I've never had a problem with software installs (except forgetting once to turn off my PalmPilot sync software which was accessing that port!) to my AVM. YMMV.


    Michael, I hope that your hearing is coming back quickly and that you're able to enjoy the pleasures of your system to its (and your) full ability!!
     
  12. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Mike,

    How long is the cable you listed? It doesn't say, although the code seems to indicate 6'. It that long enough to reach from the AVM-20 to your PC (or laptop)? I personally needed one 50' long to reach from the upstairs PC to the downstairs AVM-20. I found a 50' cable on eBay new for $10 plus $5 shipping. Locally, I couldn't find one longer than 25'.

    Michael
     
  13. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Prathavan V,

     
  14. Mike Loiterman

    Mike Loiterman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a laptop so 6 feet is plenty. I think I'll go ahead and order that one.
     
  15. George Kouzev

    George Kouzev Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK.... I finally did it!!!![​IMG]

    After so much research (over a year now), reviews and forum reading on Anthems and the likes, this is my first post here as a new and proud Anthem AVM-20 owner.

    Last evening I got my black AVM-20 (the better sounding color, by many accounts[​IMG] ) and a black Bryston 9BSST. I had to wait a bit before I could plug them in as the component temperature was initially 9C, yes I live in Canada. Cannot say much at this point, but what I could hear quickly was the familiar nice sound which I heard when I had an AVM-20 and Bryston 4BSST for trial a few months back. My only concern was about the 9BSST power being less than the 4BSST. I trew some "harsh" full with low freq material and turned the sub off. Then turned the volume up to a point where my ears were very uncomfortable and where I started worrying about my Mirage M5 towers. I could not make this amp clip nor I heard it sound harsh. Plenty of power for me. So that was a relief.

    My AVM20 came with SW version 2.11k, not sure if I have to jump on 2.12 right the way.

    What is a good (and well priced) mini LCD screen that I could add to utilize on-screen menus. I do not want to turn my CRT projector for on-screen menus only. I would not use this LCD to monitor video sources as my video comes in as either component or RGB.

    GK
     
  16. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    George,

     
  17. Prathavan V

    Prathavan V Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Congrats George, and welcome to the club!!

    For a video screen, I picked up a 7" LCD widescreen (I think it's called a "Super"??) from a factory outlet place on Ebay. I got it for $59US plus shipping. Came in at just over $100 Canadian total including duties, exchange GST etc. And yes it was new. It has a little stand with it and it works great! I too got it as I didn't want to have to turn on my CRT when 'tweaking', but as a bonus, I've got the component hooked in concert with my S-vid plugs, if I'm listening to a DVD-A, I can see the video or display material they've got on the disc!!

    Anyway, something to think about. If I can find a link for the place I got the LCD panel, I'll post it, but like I said, do an Ebay search for 'LCD' under car audio and video.
     
  18. George Caronan

    George Caronan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Prathavan V.,

    Please kindly forward that link so that I can get one too. I hate to having to turn on my screen as well. Thanks.
     
  19. Prathavan V

    Prathavan V Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    George (s), and anyone else reading,

    sorry, I can't find the link anywhere. I even looked at Ebay to see if I could figure out who the seller was, but with no luck.

    I ordered it in December 02, and got it in right around Christmas although I didn't get it into the system until a few weeks later. When I get home this evening, I'll see if I can find the box and maybe I kept the receipt in the box for the store name. I'll admit though, that is probably stretching, so in advance, I apologize for not retaining more of that information.

    A quick peek at Ebay came up with this one which sort of looks the same (mine doesn't have a speaker), but mine has a TFT screen and is Silver, like my AVM (which of course makes it all sound and look that much better!![​IMG] ) http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=50563 of course this one is $20 more expensive (but for those in Canada, it's already imported....)

    EDIT - skip that, their shipping is very high. I'll see what I can dig up at home.
     
  20. Craig Morris

    Craig Morris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1998
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just received an 'different' 2.12 to try with my Panasonic RP-91. I need to get a USB-Serial adapter cable from my father before I can install it from my laptop... but I should get to it by the weekend. Hopefully it will fix my pops/clicks.
     

Share This Page