What's new

The Subwoofer Group Delay Thread (1 Viewer)

Rory Buszka

Supporting Actor
Ok, I am looking for some expert advice on this one:

I am designing a vented enclosure for a Stryke AV12 woofer. I am wanting to get this design as "right" as possible before I build. Right now, the design is a 2 cubic foot enclosure vented to the exterior via three 3" flared ports. I have some basic knowledge of how group delay affects the sound of a subwoofer, but I still wonder how much group delay is acceptable for a "musical" vented sub. I was looking on the SVS web site to see if they had anything to say, and their FAQ page clarified to me that they do indeed pay attention to group delay when they design their subs. I realize that vented enclosures in general have higher group delay than a sealed enclosure, but I am really wondering what sort of group delay numbers I should be shooting for when I model the beast in WinISD. Right now, I am getting between 45ms and 55ms for my Group Delay numbers, and I am wondering how this compares to some of the subs you call "musical".

Allen Ross

Supporting Actor
OMG 45 is horrible, deff look at something less then 30 for HT, for music look for no more then 10.

if you break a signal in the LF region down into fourier components and look at the phase plot of the speaker's transferfunction, and extrapulate the time delay curve, then you see these Forier comenents aren't produced at the same instance in the time domain, and thus: they don't superimpose properly to give you the same signal, with the same dynamics as the input.

Michael R Price

Screenwriter
I have no real opinion about this concept myself, since I don't have enough experience to know what group delay sounds like in the absence of distortion or frequency response anomalies. It's really debatable whether we can hear phase distortion up to a certain point. You may want to read this paper:
http://www.adireaudio.com/tech_papers/sub_gd.htm