The Official Firefox 1.5 is out.

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Greg*go, Nov 29, 2005.

1. Greg*go

Greg*go Supporting Actor

Firefox - A Better Web Experience

Firefox 1.5 Release Notes
    Firefox Help

Direct Download Page Has Windows, Mac, & Linux builds in various languages. (Make sure yours has been updated to 1.5!)

Or you can use one of the many official Mozilla Mirrors that span the globe.

Themes
    Official Extension List |

I've been using the test builds for a couple months now, some of the new features include:

Automated update to streamline product upgrades. Notification of an update is more prominent, and updates to Firefox may now be half a megabyte or smaller. Updating extensions has also improved.

Faster browser navigation with improvements to back and forward button performance.

Drag and drop reordering for browser tabs.

Improvements to popup blocking.

Clear Private Data feature provides an easy way to quickly remove personal data through a menu item or keyboard shortcut.

Better support for Mac OS X (10.2 and greater) including profile migration from Safari and Mac Internet Explorer.

If you are interested in upgrading to 1.5 from an earlier version, and you have extensions, you'll need to update since it looks like they aren't usable in this 1.5 version. 1.5 will attempt to update them for you. Or you'll have to check the extensions website to see if they have made versions compatible with 1.5 and then download them.

NOTE: When installing, it is recommended that you back up your old profile. To get access to your profile in WinXP, go into the C:/Documents and Settings/User Name/Application Data/Mozilla.

Hopefully this isn't old news on that speedy internet. Since I worked all day, I didn't have a chance to post this earlier. I always enjoy posting this and getting some talk going about it.

Go knock yourselves out.

2. Scott L

Scott L Producer