What's new

The Night Of - HBO (1 Viewer)

MarkMel

Senior HTF Member
So far another good HBO show. A detective/whodoneit.

One and a half episodes in and I'm hooked!

Johnny Angell

Played With Dinosaurs Member
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Johnny Angell
I like this show though it can be a bit depressing. While I have no direct experience, the portrayal of prison life seems spot-on. It shames me that this is the way we incarcerate people. America has it's own Gulag.

There's no chewing of scenery here. Very understated but excellent performances.

Chad Erickson

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Chad Erickson
Really enjoying the show so far. John Turturro has been great as Stone and i'm having a hard time envisioning James Gandolfini in that role now. I'm sure he would have pulled it off, but Turturro seems perfect for the role.

Hollywoodaholic

Edge of Glory?
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
This most recent episode took a turn into bad cliche mode. Specifically, is it really in Stone's character to, when confronting a scary ass possible alternate suspect than his client, jump off pursuing him in his sandals in feet jumping fences and grabbing a rod to confront? Just don't buy it. If he got the suspect's name, that's enough to get authorities to root him out. But for this character to suddenly pull a cliche Magnum P.I. move just to provide the episode a more action-oriented cliffhanger... Not buying it. Disappointed. Didn't need to go there.

And Naz sure is getting desensitized in prison a bit rapidly. He shaves head (NOT good for court appearance), and then goes postal on the guy who burned him. What's up with that. And after pounding him repeatedly with his right fist... no bruising or damage to hand. And of course Freddie now sees him as fully capable of the murder. And maybe that's what we're all supposed to gather from this, and his denial of taking amphetamines.