What's new

The Matrix Revolutions - glitch? (1 Viewer)

John H Ross

Screenwriter
Joined
Oct 16, 2000
Messages
1,044
Okay, what's THIS now?

I finally gave in and bought into BD (in some ways, against my better judgement) because I thought it had gotten over its initial teething problems. I avoided the Pirates Of The Caribbean debacle by getting the corrected disc in the trilogy boxed set, then I (hopefully) avoided the Bond debacle by having a Panasonic BD-50 player (the discs are still en route from Amazon) but now, just as I am poised to order it, I'm hearing about a glitch in the Matrix box set.

C'mon guys these are BIG titles and BIG releases and this kinda thing ain't gonna do the reputation of BD much good!!

Matrix Revolutions Blu-Ray problem
 

Sam Davatchi

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Sep 15, 1999
Messages
3,150
Real Name
SamD
Thanks for letting us know. I was undecided and was thinking of maybe getting this boxset but now I know what to do!
 

Bob-ATL

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
Messages
64
I see this on my copy as well, but it is not nearly as bad as those screen captures.

I have the Panasonic BD30.

Just a few bad pixels that lasts about 3 to 5 frames.

I'll have to see if it's like this on the HD-DVD. I'll report back later on that.
 

Will_B

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2001
Messages
4,730
The other note in that article, "The VC1 file for the film itself is only about 13.4 GB. They could have re-encoded the film and DOUBLED the bitrate of the VC1 file and it would have still fit..." will keep me away from this set, too.
 

RickER

Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
5,128
Location
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Real Name
Rick
Its less than a second. I had to back it up and watch it again. If i didnt know what it was, i might have missed it.

I have DVDs with motion artifacts that are 100 times worse.

Course, that doesnt mean i want Warner to cheapen the product. But who LOOKS for this stuff? It looks fantastic.
 

troy evans

Screenwriter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
1,294
I agree that it's more than likely really small and if you didn't look you may not notice it. However, the HD DVD does not have this glitch and when it comes to hi-def releases people expect nothing short of perfect. And rightly so. After all, that is Blu-ray's promise. I don't own this set yet. I did buy the Matrix set on HD DVD when it was released and still have my mega sd dvd set. Looks like I'll be waiting on this Blu-ray release till the problem is fixed.
 

troy evans

Screenwriter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
1,294
John, did Bond push you over to Blu? If he did, your judgement was sound my friend
htf_images_smilies_smile.gif
Anyway, we are experiencing quite a few bumps in the road here lately with Blu releases. As hard as it may be to believe, it is worth it. Thank You by the way for the heads up on this. The sets been out over two weeks and no one else has mentioned the glitch.
 

Brandon Conway

captveg
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
9,619
Location
North Hollywood, CA
Real Name
Brandon Conway
It should be noted that on the PS3 the glitch only shows up as a brief frame skip with no artifact distorting, as explained in other threads about this issue on other message boards. This is probably why the issue hasn't received as much attention as it deserves so far.
 

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 16, 1998
Messages
18,810
Location
Mich. & S. Carolina
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
I watched all three films over the weekend. I barely even noticed the glitch on Revolutions using a Sony BDP-S350 player. It appeared as a brief frame skip, and I probably wouldn't have noticed it at all if not for this thread.
 

Paul Arnette

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2002
Messages
2,613

Warner Bros. is generally pretty good at doing the 'right thing' in these cases, but they have to know about it first. Therefore, Brandon has hit the nail on the head, which is this issue needs more publicity.
 

JediFonger

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
4,236
Real Name
YiFeng You
imma go home and check. it is possible that a firmware patch will fix this =P. are the matrix sets BD+? just thinking of reasons why it would skip. early BDs would have some of these issues only to be fixed via software updates later.
 

Bob-ATL

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Aug 25, 2003
Messages
64
I just called Warner at 1-800-553-6937. The woman that answered was very nice.

I told her about the Matrix Revolutions Blu-Ray glitch and the approximate time in the movie that it occurs.

As far as she knew, I was the first to report this.

I made sure to tell her that this is a widely reported problem, not just my copy.

I also told her that the HD-DVD of Matrix Revolutions did not exhibit this problem.

She then gave me another number to call, 1-818-954-6000. Called it and was directed to someone who was not in, but I did leave a voice mail. I'll let you know if I hear back from them.

I did forget to mention that on some players (PS3) it skips these bad frames, resulting in a jump cut. So maybe anyone else that calls can mention this.

She told me that this info would be forwarded along to the proper parties.

If we expect to get this fixed and re-issued, I suggest that everyone who cares about this glitch give them a call.

Based on Warner Bros history of correcting and replacing problem discs, I'm fairly optimistic that if enough people call they will replace this eventually.

Thanks,

Bob
 

David Coleman

Supporting Actor
Joined
Jan 5, 2000
Messages
764
I rented it this weekend. I thought something was up during that scene, so it's definitely an encoding error.
 

JediFonger

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
4,236
Real Name
YiFeng You
i just checked on TWO of my HTPCs with LG-GGC-H20L and powerdvd 8 and 7.3.

i do NOT see anything wrong in that scene and i stepped through it frame by frame using MPC/nero showtime as well. no pixelation for me. i've checked it on my 37" 1080p westy and my benq 720p front projecto@100" as well as my friend's house when i'm over, the vizio 42" 1080p. it just doesn't exist!

sorry fellas, it's just a matter of ur hardware/firmware updates. it plays perfectly fine here.
 

John H Ross

Screenwriter
Joined
Oct 16, 2000
Messages
1,044

Sufficient people have spotted it to suggest that it DOES exist.

Believe me I wish it didn't because I was really looking forward to getting this set.
 

Brandon Conway

captveg
Senior HTF Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
9,619
Location
North Hollywood, CA
Real Name
Brandon Conway
Some quotes from Jeff Kleist at blu-ray.com:

"It's not a compression error, it's an error on the master

We're working on it, but it's very low priority because it's not getting repressed until after the holidays and everyone is tied up in holiday mode right now"

And...

"No, I mean the stamping master

The "negative" that the disc is made from. Since the error is not present on the HD DVD and it's the same encode

That's the current hypothesis anyway"

Take that as you will.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum statistics

Threads
356,494
Messages
5,114,042
Members
144,101
Latest member
Peteo
Recent bookmarks
0
Top