What's new

The Loved One (1965) (1 Viewer)

Robert Dunnill

Second Unit
This morning, I was surprised to find that Amazon has a DVD page for this black comedy classic, although no release date is set.

A few years ago, during one of the HTF/MGM chats, I asked MGM, and they said that there were no plans at the time for a DVD release. Since then, I've read that Warner has acquired the rights.

Comments?

Thanks, RD

TonyD

Who do we think I am?
Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Tony D.
amazon has a page for almost every movie, it really is just a page for you to put your email address forthem to send you a note that is is available and for you to place a vote for it to come out on dvd.

i have this on tape from the old days of AMC when they didnt butcher movies. widescreen too i think on my tape.

it's about as dark and black as a comedy can get.

Robert Dunnill

Second Unit
The thing was, the DVD page is new (I've been monitoring the status of this film for several years now). Perhaps Amazon had limited resources to deal with "missing" titles, and only now got around to this one?

I have the laserdisc (it wasn't that hard to find), and the quality is reasonable, although it is MAR (I assume it is open matte?).

Peter Apruzzese

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Peter Apruzzese
I think it was hard-matted 1.66, so the LD might be trimmed slightly on the sides. But I've never handled a 35mm print, so I can't be certain. The LD looks too tight - to my eyes - on the top and sides to be open-matte.

Wasn't it legal clearances to the original novel that are holding this up? I know that's why the LD and cassette were discontinued.

Here's hoping Warner can get this - the number 2 black comedy of all time behind Dr. Strangelove - onto DVD soon.

Peter Apruzzese

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Peter Apruzzese
Based on the novel by Evelyn Waugh
Directed by Tony Richardson
Produced and Photographed by Haskell Wexler
Edited by Hal Ashby