"The Haunting" Menu

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by WilliamG, Sep 15, 2002.

  1. WilliamG

    WilliamG Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hearing all the stuff about the DTS track on this movie, I bought it this weekend. Heres my situation: when I insert the disc, the "Audio Select" menu pops up first. You know, Select One- DTS/DD. Well, naturally I select DTS then the movie begins. It's not until the DreamWorks screen plays that I realize that the Main Menu did not display! So I select Menu on my remote and *then* it comes up. Does anyone else's disc do this? I just find it a bit disconcerting that the Audio menu is FORCED ... and THEN the show starts! Is it my player (Panasonic RP-56) or the disc? Does it bother you, or am I just nit-picking? [​IMG]
     
  2. Scott Simonian

    Scott Simonian Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm. I wish my copy did that!
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Josh Simpson

    Josh Simpson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe my Saving Private Ryan DVD does the same thing.
     
  4. Jonathan

    Jonathan Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 1998
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Saving Priavte Ryan goes to the menu after selecting DTS. But Jurassic Park & The Lost World go straight to the movie after selecting DTS.
     
  5. Leif Wall

    Leif Wall Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My disc goes to the 'select dd/dts' first. Then I think the Dreamworks screen might pop up and then go to the menu. It doesn't go directly to the movie.

    A lot of Dreamworks discs have the Dreamworks intro and then the menu. Then you play the movie and get another Dreamworks intro. Weird.
     
  6. Nick_Scott

    Nick_Scott Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I've read here, non-DTS receivers could mistake the DTS track for PCM track and try to play it... which may blow your speakers....
    At least thats the explanation for the Audio Menu. They don't want non-DTS receivers accidentally playing a DTS track.
    On a side note, my DTS-Haunting goes from the audio-menu to the main-menu, though it is the Canadian version. I don't know if that makes a difference. Its probobly my best audio DEMO, but lately I'll use the Haunting clip from the DTS Demo#4 instead of the actual movie... Its not like I actually want to watch it!! [​IMG]
     
  7. MikeEckman

    MikeEckman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually like the idea of forcing you to go to the audio setup menu, especially on a DTS/DD disc...that way, you dont accidently forget to choose the best sound track.

    More than once, I have gotten to the plane crash sequence in Fight Club before I realized I've been watching the movie in Dolby 2.0, because that disc defaults to 2.0 instead of 5.1.

    I've gotten used to always going into the setup menu on a disc before playing it, but in my opinion, the menu should be used for accessing the other features of the disc, if after the FBI warnings, they took you to the audio selection menu, and then straight to the movie, it would eliminate everything else, and if I wanted to see the menu, I could just hit the menu button.
     

Share This Page