What's new

The Fog (1 Viewer)

Doug Smith

Second Unit
Anyone else disappointed in this "new" version. The picture looks as good on VHS, and most of the 5.1 sound comes through the front speaker. Brutal. Too bad, I'm a big Carpenter fan.

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
I thought The Fog looked better on DVD than it ever has (including the widescreen laser) and probably about as good as it ever will. The 5.1 remix respected the low-budget original; anyone expecting sonic magic from a low-budget 80s "B" picture is bound to be disappointed.

M.

Kevin M

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Kevin Ray
I was very pleased with this DVD and agree that this is as good as it has ever looked on home video, the 5.1 mix is in the same spirit as the film, subtle and creepy. My hat's off to MGM.

Pete Battista

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Pete
I have to agree... I was thrilled with this disc. I thought they did a great job on it considering it was really a low-budget horror. Matter of fact I was thinking its about time for me to watch this one again :)

RickER

Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Rick
I have never had a better copy of The Fog as the new DVD. I have owned this movie several times and i do belive it couldnt look better. You should have seen how bad it looked on laserdisc, or worse..how unwatchable it looked panned and scanned. I wish carpenter could still make em as good.

Mehdy

Stunt Coordinator
Comparied with the collector's edition on LASER-this new dvd
is clearly superior in both sound and picture. Probably the best it can be.

Robert_eb

Supporting Actor
My only complaint with this disc is the exclusion of the isolated score which is on the laserdisc. Otherwise, I think the disc looks and sounds great considering the films budget.

Dave Mack

Senior HTF Member
Maybe you have a bad disc??? It's happened...

Mine looks superb and most of the reviews have been very positive.

James Reader

Screenwriter