What's new

The best I could do for ~$1000. Fluance vs. Axiom. (1 Viewer)

josh_dee

Auditioning
First, let me say that I am a HT novice. It has always been a passive interest of mine, occasionally picking up home theater mags and enjoying other people's systems, but never have assembled my own system before. I used to own a pair of Celestion A2s back in the day, but I used them primarily for stereo/music listening. Anyway, I recently entered the market for a new bedroom system, with a budget of ~$1000 US, which will be used for home theater and music equally.

Like many here, I am somewhat obsessive about doing my homework before buying. Countless hours have been spent searching forums, reading reviews, and eliciting opinions from people more knowledgeable than I. Also, of course, I managed to listen to a few systems in showrooms, stores and other people's houses. My knowledge of the technical aspects related to A/V are somewhat limited, so mostly I relied upon my ears to tell me what I liked.

I almost decided to go with a Fluance setup, using SV-10's as mains, their center and the Dipoles as surrounds. I hadn't quite decided on a sub, but chances are I probably would have went with the Dayton 10" I've seen recommended here and elsewhere. I've always owned Onkyo receivers and have always had good experiences with them, so my choice to go with Onkyo again was a no-brainer. At first I decided on the Onkyo. In the end, I decided against the Fluance. Why? Because I couldn't find anyone locally who owned them and their 7-day return policy frightened me off. I've heard tons of good things about them, some bad, and when it comes to my sonic enjoyment, I prefer not to take too many risks =)

What did I end up ultimately purchasing? See below:

Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR601 - $329 - new @ Onecall.com
Fronts: 2x Axiom M22ti - $250 - used @ local owner
Center: 1x Axiom M2i - $100 - used @ local owner
Surrounds: 2x Michaura M55 - $100 - @ local owner