The 650$ receiver showdown

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Sean Dayton, Jan 28, 2002.

1. Sean Dayton

Sean Dayton Stunt Coordinator

Ok folks I am a complete newbie trying to put together his first HT system. I have finally decided to go with the Energy Take 5.2 system with S8.2 sub due to all its glowing reviews and fits right into my budget for speakers. Now I am down to the reciever selection again and want to keep it in budget between 600 to 700$ internet price and has to do PL 2 also. This is what I have come up with HK AVR 520, Onkyo DS 696, Denon 2802, Marantz SR 6200

Yamaha HTR 5490. Now from what I have read around here and at AVS the Onkyo has a good remote but other say that Onkyo quality is crap. HK is supposed to have a better more natural sound reproduction but HK recievers are not the best for price performance value. Denon 2802 has crappy remote and hard to set up but runs like a champ after its up and runnin. Marantz quality is suppose to be crap. Yamaha, I dont recall reading anything good or bad about Yamaha. Right now at the moment I am in the middle of the fence between the Denon 2802 and the Onkyo 696. Now I would love all you HT tech heads feedback on this. I am not planning to constantly upgrade this sytem but want to get a couple years life out of it them totaly rebuild from scratch again 2 years down the road when I am in a new home and will just transfer this existing system into a den. TIA

Sean

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    I picked up my SR6200 for $599 locally, and I am very happy with it. Sound quality for music is better than any you have listed, and the amps are more than up to the task. I actually compared it to the 3802, and chose the 6200. 520 was not around, but also costs more. I haven't heard of quality problems with Onkyo either.

Personally, I'd say LISTEN to them, check out features, and get the one you like.