Testing for a possible bad Subwoofer

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Mark^Faust, May 13, 2004.

1. Mark^Faust

Mark^Faust Agent

Are there any specific tests I can run to test for a bad subwoofer..(except for no sound at all)??

It seems my Velodyne FSR12B is not hitting like it used to..Might just be me...Might be my Yamaha HTR-5250 also...

Some things that seem to be happening that didnt use to happen....

Auto Circuitry not kicking in like it used to..(fixed by Auto Sense turned to off)

At times, sub needing to be unplugged for 3 minutes to "reset" it. If I dont, I get this really muffled noise that is not adjustable via the Gain control. Once I "reset" it, everything seems to work fine.

Bass does not sound as tight as it once was...Seems more "boomy" than before.

Is there anything a neophyte can do to help diagnose the problem?? (I am an old electronics technician/now engineer that is not afraid of taking seomthing apart and putting a DMM on it either...)

thx
    Mark

2. Mark^Faust

Mark^Faust Agent

"Might" have answered my own question...
    I have a "Dynamic Range" setting on both my HTR-5250 and my CH-405 DVD player.

I set the Yamaha to Min, but forgot to check the DVD player. I remembered it last night and it was set at 50%, so I turned it off also.

I will recliabrate everything tonight and see if it is any better....

Mark

3. Mark^Faust

Mark^Faust Agent

that seemed to be my problem....but now that leads to yet another problem...

THE UPGRADE BUG has bitten....... and bitten hard...

I will post another note to see how to "reign" in my current bug in a civilized manner

Mark

4. Tom Vodhanel

Tom Vodhanel Cinematographer

Has anything in the room environment change? new furniture...different seating positions...different location for the subwoofer,ect?