Tempest T/S inconsistencies

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeremy Stockwell, Aug 10, 2002.

1. Jeremy Stockwell

Jeremy Stockwell Supporting Actor

OK, I'm new to all of this, but I've been playing around with LspCAD and WinISD trying to fine-tune a sub design. In the process, I was setting the T/S parameters for the Tempest in WinISD since it's not one of their presets (is it? I didn't see it). First, I took the values from LspCAD, but then I was looking at Adire's site and they list different values. Why would this be?
    Such as:
    Re: LspCad says 7.00 ohms, Adire's site says 3.50 ohms
    Le: LspCad says 5.8 mH, Adire's site says 2.9 mH
    Qes: LspCad says .80, Adire's site says .40
    Qts: LspCad says .71, Adire's site says .38
    Xmax: I know that this one is different depending on one way or both ways, but which to I put into WinISD??
    These all seem to be doubled in LspCAD and I'm sure there is a reason for this (??), but I want to make sure I'm putting in the correct parameters into WinISD.
    ***Also*** - This is fair warning to Patrick Sun, Dustin B, Kyle Richardson, Brian Bunge, etc, etc. I'm planning on building a sub very similar to Pat's Sunosub II and will have some questions along the way, I'm sure. But -- trust that I will do my best to search first and bother you guys second. [​IMG]
    Thanks!
    JKS

2. warrick

warrick Stunt Coordinator

Jeremy,

I'm no expert could one set of values be for a single voice coil and the other for the double voice coils

Warrick

3. Isaac C

Isaac C Stunt Coordinator

Yup, LspCAD lists the individual voice-coil details while Adire Audio's site presents the parallel voice-coil values.
    [​IMG]

4. Jeremy Stockwell

Thanks for the replys from down under!!

So does it make any difference which I use in WinISD?