Tell me how to do this

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Greg_L_C, Jul 8, 2002.

  1. Greg_L_C

    Greg_L_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would like to take the B speaker outputs on receiver and and feed it to 2 separate rooms with in wall volume control for each room. how do I do this the right way? what do I need to get?

    Thanks

    Greg
     
  2. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1) The main issue is going to be impedance load. Your receiver will need something between it and the contols/speakers, or else the load will burn out the amplifier.

    2) Thankfully, most commercial volume control systems have a imp regulator device between the amplifier and the controls. If you don't mind incremental volume control instead of smooth control- Parts Express has a very cheap dayton system of wall controls that would work for you.

    3) You might see if you have a line out of the receiver you could feed to an amplifier instead. Most people who setup a system the way you've suggested find it limiting- as the master volume affects the second sets of speakers-- so you have to go in and set it every time you want to use the extra rooms.

    -Vince
     
  3. Greg_L_C

    Greg_L_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your help Vince.
    So I can run 2 sets of wires from my receiver/amp and use controls like this ,IMPEDANCE MATCHING VOLUME CONTROL , between the speakers and the receiver/amp it should work relatively fine. I understand that it can only go a loud as the master volume control on reciever, and my be a little hard to adjust.
    thanks
    greg
     
  4. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Greg,

    Yep! Double check to make sure if the controls operate on their own or needs a main junction. The old Dayton volume knobs requires a second box- the receiver connected to a junction box which connected to the volume controls. I think the one you linked to needs the distro panel box:

    #300-541 4 way
    #300-542 10 way

    So you buy one of these boxes, and the volume knobs and you're golden. Do take note that the dayton volume knobs are segmented- like the volume position moves in 3db clicks- not a completely smooth infinite volume positions on a analog volume control.

    -Vince
     
  5. Greg_L_C

    Greg_L_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Vince parts are on order.

    Greg
     

Share This Page