What's new

Tell me about my new laserdisc player… (1 Viewer)

cafink

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl Fink
I've been something of a movie nut for a few years now, but I never really got into the home theater scene until a few years about, when DVD was first introduced. Until today, I never owned a laserdisc player.

An acquaintance of mine had an old player he was getting rid of, and he generously offered it to me free of charge. In consideration of the price for which I acquired it, I don't feel as though I have any right to complain about the player's shortcomings, but I was hoping some knowledgeable HTF members might fill me in on the pros and cons of my new player.

The front panel says "Pioneer CD CDV LD Player CLD-95." Below that, "ELITE Reference CD CDV LD Player." Would I be correct in assuming that this means it plays CDs and Video-CDs in addition to laserdiscs? What can you tell me about this particular model? My buddy wasn't able to provide me with the manual so I don't really know a thing about it.

Thanks for any info you might be able to provide.

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
Assuming it's in good working order, it's one of the better players Pioneer sold in America. I still have mine. As you've probably noticed already, it doesn't have the RF out for Dolby Digital (that came with the successor model, the CLD-97), but it does have optical digital out for DTS and PCM tracks.

Most people, including me, have found that the composite output is superior to the S-video. That was true when the player was new, 10 years ago; so with the comb filters in today's TVs, I'd be surprised if your experience was any different.

It plays CDs, but not Video CDs. The feature set is pretty standard for late-model Pioneer LD players.

M.

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member