What's new

Teaching Media - which DVDs have good info and examples of how films are made?? (1 Viewer)

Ruslan

Stunt Coordinator
Sorry for the long thread title! I'm an English teacher but am covering Media as part of the UK exam course. I managed to get our department a multi-region DVD player and would like to screen some DVD supplements to help pupils (aged 15/16) to understand how film are made and edited.
Can anyone suggest which DVDs have the best practical information on this topic.
Thanks for any help

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
T2 has an excellent mixed text/multimedia presentation of the making of film, that covers EVERYTHING very well, including editing.

-V

Michael Harris

Screenwriter
The commentary tracks on the "El Mariachi/Desperado" set are excellent especially for the first film. The director perfectly describes the techniques he used to make his movie appear "bigger" then his miniscule budget would allow. Also there is a wonderful featurette called "10 Minute Film School" that demonstrates his cheats.

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member
The Disney Special Editions are GREAT as far as explaining the process and considering your audience is teens, the Pixar ones (especially A Bugs Life) do it in a fun/easy to understand way.

Richard Smith

Stunt Coordinator
The Criterion version of Traffic has got some fascinating and quite in-depth supplements on film and sound editing.

And if you're after something a bit more interactive how about the editing demonstration on the Fellowship Of The Ring EE? And both Die Hard 5 Star Collection and Men In Black have editing workshop features.

Ed Bishop

Auditioning