1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

TCL 4k HDR pass though Receiver/Soundbar?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by JayAre, May 18, 2019.

Tags:
  1. JayAre

    JayAre Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    JR Greger
    I have been wanting to add in my Vizio SB4051-C0 to my TCL 55S403 but couldn't get the ARC working and still be able to get 4k HDR passthrough Picture always dropped to HD. I then bought a 4K Receiver (Sony STR-DN840) that is supposed to support 4K Passthrough but for the life of me I cant get it to work on the ARC HDMI 1. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    10,786
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    Are you trying to use the Vizio sound bar with the receiver? Are you connecting your source to the receiver first (the correct way) or to the TV first (the incorrect way)?
     
  3. JayAre

    JayAre Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    JR Greger
    Receiver to TV then source into one of the hdmi inputs in the receiver. The soundbar is currently disconnected.
     
  4. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    10,786
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    This stuff has gotten really complicated. Hopefully someone will come in with more experience with this specific topic. Still, just because the receiver passes 4K doesn't mean it passes HDR, or all types of HDR. I looked up that receiver and it doesn't say anything about being HDCP 2.2 compliant. You also have to be certain you have suitable hdmi cables. You need ones certified high speed. Apparently some that claim they are, actually aren't. These are just possible sources of the problem I'm finding, but I haven't made the move to 4K or HDR myself yet, so I don't know all the many hurdles.
     
  5. JayAre

    JayAre Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    JR Greger
    Interesting I tried swapping cables but no good :( 4K HDR is what I want buit I'm not even getting 4K just HD.
     
  6. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    10,786
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    The most likely culprit for that are insufficient spec hdmi cables, or ones that are too long.
     
  7. Dave Moritz

    Dave Moritz Lead Actor
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    7,369
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    California
    Real Name:
    Dave Moritz
    Something in the chain is not HDCP 2.2 complient as that will cause the player to down res 4K content to 1080p HD.
     
  8. JohnRice

    JohnRice Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    10,786
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    A Mile High
    Real Name:
    John
    That receiver doesn’t mention being HDCP 2.2, while the newer model does, but it says it is 4K compatible.
     
  9. JayAre

    JayAre Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    JR Greger
    Is it possible to be 4k compatable but not be HDCP 2.2?
     

Share This Page