taking dvd screenshots

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jesse Clift, Aug 18, 2002.

  1. Jesse Clift

    Jesse Clift Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could have sworn that I read a thread on how to do this a while back, but for the life of me I can't find it. Can somebody please post the link if it exists or just tell me how to do it? I have InterVideo WinDVD. Thanks.

    -Jesse
     
  2. Darren Davis

    Darren Davis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you can get a screencap program that will take caps of overlay images. There should be plenty on the net, just do a google search.

    This is just a guess. If I'm wrong, please feel free to correct.
     
  3. Jesse Clift

    Jesse Clift Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried a screencap program from downloads.com but it doesn't really work and the other programs are not free. Anyone know if it's possible to do it with InterVideo WinDVD?

    -Jesse
     
  4. Mike_G

    Mike_G Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    14
    Real Name:
    Mike
    PowerDVD does it.

    Mike
     
  5. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you not just pause the DVD where you want the screen capture and hit "print screen" to throw a copy to the clipboard?
    I've never tried this, so there may be a reason that wouldn't work, but it seems that it should.
     
  6. Mike_G

    Mike_G Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    14
    Real Name:
    Mike
    Mike,
    No. The DVD software has a color that's used to overlay the video over. Sorta how bluescreening works in film. When you do a printscreen, you'll get the overlay color, not the video that's overlayed. The overlaying is done in hardware in the video card.

    Mike
     
  7. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Mediamatics DVD player also does it and it too is free.
     
  8. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Jonathan Smith

    Jonathan Smith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jesse,
    I also have the Intervideo WinDVD software and was trying to figure it out. Look in the help menu for Capture a still image (something like that.. it started with capture). It says that you can press "P" at any time during paused or moving playback and get a still image which is saved as cap001.bmp (and cap002, etc) in the Capture subdirectory of WinDVD on your hard drive.
    I tried it and it didn't work for me[​IMG] . The help menu also says that if it doesn't work to try disabling some option that is "grayed out" for me so I can't disable it. It was something about my video card that it didn't like I think. Maybe it will work for you.
     
  10. Jesse Clift

    Jesse Clift Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jonathan,

    I found the help section you were referring to and I also couldn't get the "P" button to work. I pressed it a bunch of times and couldn't find the bmp files anywhere.

    I also tried a different capture program (can't even remember what it's called, i already deleted it) and I got a black screen every time I tried to capture something. I assume this is because of the color overlay? Anyway, I'm going to keep trying some different programs. Does anyone know what Ron uses for his screen captures?

    -Jesse
     

Share This Page