What's new

Table Saw recommendation (1 Viewer)

Andrew Pezzo

Second Unit
I am looking to get a table saw but could use some of advice - just bought my first house and want to try out a few projects. I was happy to see that they are a lot less than I expected but have no idea which are good and which should be avoided. I am going to get it either at Lowes, The Home Depot or Sears and want to spend about $200 - $300. Any recommendations would be very helpful. I saw a couple of Craftsmans ones I liked but not sure how they stack up againt some of the other popular brands. I am a novice at this stuff if that makes any difference.

BrianW

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brian
The Ryobi table saw is a great value. It's solidly built, has a great factory fence that locks securely and stays parallel to the blade, and it has the best (that I know of) factory miter fence of all the budget table saws. It's big and stable enough to accommodate large sheet goods (4x8 plywood, for example) with outfeed rollers, but small enough so you can push it off to the side of the garage and still get the car in. I've had mine for almost 20 years, and it's still going strong. In all that time, the design has changed very little, which, I think, is a testimony to its functionality and reliability.

Actually, truth be told, I wouldn't get most other Ryobi power tools. They're not at all bad, but they're not great, either. They're about the same level of quality as Black & Decker. But some tools, like circular saws and table saws, don't even have elements like journal bearings or jack bearings which Ryobi (and B&D) are known to cheap out on. So without those parts to go bad, the Ryobi table saw is a much better tool than most other Ryobi tools.

There are a lot of good table saws in that price range. Find one that has the following features, and you'll be do great:

* The fence should lock down securely on BOTH ends, front and back.