What's new

System Wires (1 Viewer)

Junie

Agent
I was wanting to know about the wires used to hook up HT. I am new to HT and used monster wire for all of the hookups. I found this to be pricie. As I add more to the system is there another manufacturer that is just as good or better at a lower price? If not I will just have to spend the money

Thanks in advance.

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale
Howdy and welcome to the forum.

Monster can be quite pricey. I would take a look at Acoustic Research if I were you. I like them a lot and they are quite a bit cheaper than Monster.

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
For speaker wire, anything of the desired thickness (of the copper, not of the overall cable) will do, Radio Shack and Home Depot wire is just as good as Monster Cable (tm). A 12 gauge stranded wire with more than 12 strands per conductor is suggested for not being too stiff. (14 gauge will do for less than 25 feet to the speaker, 16 gauge for less than about 12 feet but you might want 12 gauge for everything so you don't have too many spools of leftovers.) If you want speaker wires with the banana plugs already attached, you will have to pay more but you don't have to pay as much as Monster Cable costs.
If you can fasten a string to the clips or terminals with good metal contact, and you don't need to keep disassembling and moving the equipment, then you don't need banana plugs on your wires. Just be careful that stray strands of wire don't touch nearby metal parts and cause a short circuit.
Video hints:
http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
hi junie!

as others have said...

monster is good stuff. no worries there.

however...

you can probably get just as good performance at about 1/3rd the cost. i use radio-shack and AR cables (available at best-buy) and am quite happy with the performance. i did some blind-testing between the rat-shack and monster and could not discern any difference.