SW Galaxies and computer lag proplems

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Kevin_Graham, Jul 8, 2003.

  1. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last week I purchased Galaxies and I've really enjoyed it. I have been completely frustrated though with my computers lack of ability to play this game without hesitation. So I'm turning to the HTF computer experts once again. What part(s) of my computer need to be upgraded to play this game smoothly?

    P4 1.6A
    512mb RAM
    80mb hardrive
    Geforce3 Ti 200 64mb
    XP home
    DSL connection
     
  2. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    The GeFORCE3 Ti200, although the 1.6A isn't helping you out much, have you tried to OC it yet? The usually can be OC'ed up to 2.0Ghz with little trouble.

    I'd recommend getting a Radeon 9500 Pro if you are looking to get off on the cheap, if not look for the regular Radeon 9800 they cost less then the 9700 Pro and run just as fast.
     
  3. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Criminy.
     
  5. Kimmo Jaskari

    Kimmo Jaskari Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check your network and what kind of throughput you're getting to the SWG servers. Try the ping command to see how long it takes to ping; it could also be that the SWG servers are overloaded just as well as a problem on your end.

    Make sure you check out the SWG forums and see if there are any others experiencing lag on a more systematic scale or if it is just you.

    The 1.6 GHz machine and Geforce 3 should be fine, but surely you can try turning down graphics detail to see if that has any impact whatsoever.
     
  6. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies!

    My throughput to the servers is not an issue. There's a huge amount of activity on my hardrive and that's when the lag time appears to be happening. Before I installed Galaxies I had run Norton's against the hardrive. I fixed whatever errors there were and defragged the disk. The hardrive is nowhere near full so I'm wondering if this activity is due to the windows swap file or maybe the video card holding things up.

    Any other ideas?
     
  7. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    Do you have a lot of stuff going on in the background? Stuff like Norton's and other things in your sys tray?
    Disable whatever you think is unnecessary while you're playing. That will probably help to speed things up.
     
  8. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot to mention that I do disable Norton before playing.
     
  9. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I remove programs from my system tray?
     
  11. Greg Rakaska

    Greg Rakaska Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 1999
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was a Beta tester for SWG and the system I played had was the same as yours except I had a 1 Ghz PIII, XP Pro, and cable modem (512 mb RAM, Ti200). I only noticed lag in large groups in the cities. I left the graphics at default detail levels.

    I did not notice the hard drive activity you mention. I believe that the advice others gave you about reducing the number of background programs is sound. Something is causing a lot of swap activity. Your system has the power to play SWG smoothly at default graphic details, with only some minor lag in busy scenarios.

    Is your PC a Dell, Gateway, or similar brand name. If so, then it is probably LOADED with non-essential, running, programs.

    Go to http://www.blkviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm and check out the list of XP services. Learn which ones you need, and which you don't TAKE GOOD NOTES of what you change, just in case you stop a critical service. Learn to use and understand MSCONFIG, especially the "Startup" tab options. Stop everything you do not need. Google is your friend. Search for the programs in the Startup tab if you do not know what they are.

    I have since upgraded my system to a 2.4 PIVc, 1 gb Dual channel DDR, GF4800, and SWG plays very smooth with details cranked up 1/2 - 3/4 on most sliders.

    If you feel the desire to upgrade your hardware after optimizing your software, get a better vid card, and another 256 mb RAM. SWG will use 768 mb if available. In the nVidia line, the GF 4200 is considered the best price/performer at about $100. Some folks like the newer ATI cards better, but I know nothing about them, so cannot advise on that. the FX5900 is the top of the line, but will run $400 or so. BUT fix the swap problem first!
     
  12. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally, I find the best way to deal with the swap problem is to set the swap file as a fixed size. That seems to cut down on hd activity a lot.
     
  13. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  14. Greg Rakaska

    Greg Rakaska Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 1999
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  15. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] Well, there's an eye-opener! Yes, I just bought it, so I can return it tomorrow.

    Thanks for the notice!
     
  16. Kimmo Jaskari

    Kimmo Jaskari Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    More memory is never a bad thing, and 512 MB more won't break the bank. Might be worth it.

    I remember when I was trying Anarchy Online, the rich people were buying huge amounts of RAM and putting the swap file into RAM-disks just to be able to play the game with passable speed and no disk swapping...
     
  17. Shane Martin

    Shane Martin Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 1999
    Messages:
    6,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would suspect its a cpu issue combined with a video card. VI's games requires tons of both and you can never have enough of either for games designed by VI(verant). My friend upgraded to a Geforce 4 TI4600 and the issues were all but gone.
     
  18. Kevin_Graham

    Kevin_Graham Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apparently this is an issue for many GeForce users. I have upgraded to a Geforce FX 5200 and I'm going to add another 512 of memory tonight. Hopefully that'll take care of the lag time.
     

Share This Page